Dec 3, 2009

Health for All

  • Thus the Department of Medical Services which was a huge composite Department at the time of inception has decade by decade paved way for organisation of various separate Departments for better administration and from 1.1.99 onwards, this Department namely the Department of Medical and Rural Health Services is being entrusted with the responsibility of rendering Medical Care services to the public through the Non-Teaching Medical Institutions.
  • Through the pursuit of various policies and Programmes, the Department is aiming to translate the Alma Alta Declaration of
        Health for All in to reality.
  • The reduction in Infant Mortality Rate, Maternal Mortality Rate, Crude Death Rate and Crude Birth Rate come through the services of the Medical Institutions under the Control of this Department.
  • Department Functioning:
  • The Department of Medical and Rural Health Services is rendering Medical Services through the grid of 25 District Head Quarters Hospitals, 162 Taluk Hospitals, 79 Non Taluk Hospitals, 12 Dispensaries and 11 Mobile Medical Units, besides 23 District T.B. Centres, 5 T.B. Hospitals and 2 TB Clinics and 1 Leprosy Hospital are under the control of this Department.